Dingdong Dantes, Max Collins win major awards at the 3rd EDDYS


Several GMA Network personalities were hailed among the winners of the recently-concluded 3rd Entertainment Editors’ Choice Awards for Movies (The EDDYS) held last Sunday, July 14, at the New Frontier Theater.

Kapuso Primetime King Dingdong Dantes took home the Best Actor award for his outstanding performance in “Sid and Aya” where he portrayed the role of the wealthy stockbroker Sid. He is currently the host of “Amazing Earth” and “StarStruck” and will soon topbill the much awaited Pinoy adaptation of the Korean series, “Descendants of the Sun.”

Versatile leading lady Max Collins received the Best Supporting Actress award for her pivotal and challenging role in “Citizen Jake” as an English schoolteacher. At present, she exhibits her acting prowess in the GMA Afternoon Prime suspense drama series, “Bihag.”

Zig Dulay, award-winning director of the epic drama series Sahaya, won the Best Screenplay award for his contributions in the materialization of “Liway” —a Martial Law film about a young mother attempting to raise her kid normally in a makeshift prison camp for nonconformists during the Marcos regime. “Liway,” headlined by Glaiza de Castro and Dominic Roco, bagged the Best Picture award.

Meanwhile, some of the brightest Kapuso stars brought glitz and show-stopping performances in the prestigious event. Internationally-acclaimed Kapuso singer Aicelle Santos showcased her powerful vocals as she belted out “Bituing Walang Ningning” and “Sana’y Wala Nang Wakas” while highly-talented actress Rita Daniela wooed the crowd with her sweet rendition of “Kiss Me, Kiss Me.” Total Heartthrob and “Hanggang Sa Dulo Ng Buhay Ko” star Rayver Cruz grooved to the beat of “Growing Up” at the opening of the Eddys.

Juancho Triviño and Arra San Agustin, lead stars of the upcoming Afternoon Prime series “Madrasta,” were the red-carpet hosts. On the other hand, Kapuso leading man Jeric Gonzales was one of the presenters for the Best Sound Design and Best Musical Score awards.

Spearheaded by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd), the Editors’ Choice Awards for Movies or The EDDYS is an annual award-giving body that encourages local filmmakers, producers, writers, and actors to pursue their passion of creating films reflecting the realities of our society.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here